Uniting Church in Australia

Uniting Church in Australia

The Uniting Church in Australia was formed on 22nd June 1977 by the union of the Methodist Church of Australasia, the Congregational Union of Australia and the Presbyterian Church of Australia. Box Hill Methodist Church was renamed Wesley Uniting Church Box Hill following the union.

The Uniting Church in Australia is the third largest Christian denomination in Australia with over 2,000 congregations worshiping at a Uniting Church on any Sunday, including many congregations that worship in languages other than English.

The Uniting Church is committed to being a series of inter-related councils – local churches, regional presbyteries, state synods and the national Assembly. Each council has its distinct responsibilities and works in relation to other councils in a shared process rather than in a hierarchical nature.

For more information about the Uniting Church in Australia, please visit the website:


Related Topics